Languages in India State Wise: A Comprehensive List


What is the List of Languages in India State Wise

India is a country of diversity yet you can yet find unity among them. This diversity is not only in their lifestyle, culture, tradition, food or dresses but also you can find different Languages in India State Wise from one place to another.

India is a country of very diverse languages. There is a proverb that in India at every 20 miles the language changes. On the surface, though it may look totally rustic, observers have found out that there are distinct changes in the dialect of the language spoken over approximately certain specific distance. Do you know What is the list of Languages in India State Wise?

Languages of India
Languages of India

In India, a total of 1650 languages are spoken, amongst which 30 are the most popular and are spoken by the majority. Individual languages are very prominently practiced at family, societal or local levels.

Recommended for You:
Folk Dances Of India
Development In Ancient India And Western Bias

When we talk of Languages in India State Wise, we talk about the languages spoken in the Indian sub-continent which means it includes languages spoken in Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the whole of present India.

In a broader sense, Languages in India State Wise are divided into two groups. Indo-Aryan languages which are spoken by 75% of the population whereas the Dravidian languages which are spoken by almost 20% of the population. 5% of the total population speak Sino-Tibetan, Austroasiatic and other languages like Tai-Kadai and the Great Andamanese languages.

If you want to be precise and use the authentic information, we must look at the Census of India conducted during 2001. As per this census, there are altogether 1721 languages identified in India, of which 122 are the major languages in India spoken by the majority of the people and there are 1599 other languages which are spoken at the herd, Kabila, society or local levels.

While learning the Languages in India State Wise, we find that the Constitution of India has not given the status of National Language to any particular language. The official language of the Government of India is Hindi in Devanagari script and English. The eighth schedule of the constitution of India lists 22 languages which are recognized to be officially propagated and encouraged. Alphabetically this includes Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Santhali, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, and Urdu. Out of these languages, Hindi is the most spoken language.As per the census of 2001, approximately 422 million people speak Hindi.

Hindi also includes into its fold various native languages which differ substantively to one another, yet they are acknowledged as part of the mother language called Hindi. The native languages in India which are identified as part of Hindi include Bhojpuri, Rajasthani, Magadhi, Chhattisgarhi, Haryanvi, Marwari, Malvi, Mewari, Bundelkhandi, Pahari, Awadhi, Garhwali, Kumouni, Surgujia, Banjari, and Knagari etc.

Summarizing the topic Languages in India State Wise, we can safely conclude that India is a country of diversity not only in culture, religion, practices but also in the sphere of languages too.

1 Comment
  1. Ramchandra Rao Nafdey says

    Tulu(Karnataka) is also widely spoken dilect and some more local dilects may be there in south they should be also considered.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.